GCSE Exam Contingency Period

The summer written exam period will run from Friday 10th to Tuesday 25 June 2019. However for the summer 2019 exam series a “contingency” period has been set by the examination awarding bodies. This contingency period for GCSE examinations has been put in place “in the event of widespread, sustained national or local disruption to examinations”. The decision comes following the tragic events of last summer, namely the Manchester attacks and the Grenfell Tower fire. The Joint Council for Qualifications (JCQ) have decided that they need the option to postpone an exam (or exams) in the event of an incident and rearrange them for a later date to allow all students a fair and equal chance. The contingency period lasts until Wednesday 26 June 2019. This means that all exam candidates must be available to sit exams from the date of their first exam up to and including Wednesday 26 June 2019. This is not a school/college decision and applies to all candidates in all schools.

External tasks
Fri 1 March 17:00 WJEC Drama
Tue 7 & Wed 8 May AQA Art & Photography
Date Start Length Board Component Component Title
Fri 10 May 09:00 01:00 LIBF Finance
Mon 13 May 09:00 01:30 OCR J276/01 Computer Science
Mon 13 May 13:00 00:00 AQA 8062/13 Religious Studies A P1-3 Christ
Mon 13 May 13:00 00:00 AQA 8062/15 Religious Studies A P1-5 Islam
Tue 14 May 09:00 00:35 AQA 8658/LF French Listening Test Tier F
Tue 14 May 09:00 00:45 AQA 8658/RF French Reading Test Tier F
Tue 14 May 09:00 00:45 AQA 8658/LH French Listening Test Tier H
Tue 14 May 09:00 01:00 AQA 8658/RH French Reading Test Tier H
Tue 14 May 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1BF Paper One: Biology (F)
Tue 14 May 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1BH Paper One: Biology (H)
Wed 15 May 09:00 01:00 OCR R041 Sports Science
Wed 15 May 09:00 01:00 OCR A834/01 Portuguese Writing
Wed 15 May 12:45 01:45 AQA 8702/1 English Literature Paper 1
Thu 16 May 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1CF Paper One: Chemistry (F)
Thu 16 May 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1CH Paper One: Chemistry (H)
Thu 16 May 13:00 01:30 OCR J276/02 Computer Science
Fri 17 May 09:00 01:00 AQA 8658/WF French Writing Test Tier F
Fri 17 May 09:00 01:15 AQA 8658/WH French Writing Test Tier H
Fri 17 May 13:00 01:30 WJEC C690U30-1 Drama COMPONENT3
Mon 20 May 09:00 01:45 AQA 8062/2A Religious Studies A P2A Excl Text
Mon 20 May 13:00 00:50 OCR A831/01 Portuguese Listening
Tue 21 May 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/1F Mathematics Paper 1 Tier F
Tue 21 May 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/1H Mathematics Paper 1 Tier H
Tue 21 May 13:00 01:15 OCR J384/01 Geography B: Our Natural World
Wed 22 May 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1PF Paper One: Physics (F)
Wed 22 May 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 1PH Paper One: Physics (H)
Thu 23 May 09:00 02:15 AQA 8702/2 English Literature Paper 2
Fri 24 May 09:00 01:30 EDEXL 1BS0 01 Investigating Small Bus.
Fri 24 May 09:00 01:45 AQA 8182/1 Psychology Paper 1
Fri 24 May 12:45 02:00 AQA 8552/W Design and Technology
Mon 03 Jun 09:00 01:15 EDEXL 1HI0 11 Medicine in Britain
Mon 03 Jun 13:00 01:45 AQA 8182/2 Psychology Paper 2
Tue 04 Jun 09:00 01:45 AQA 8700/1 English Language Paper 1
Tue 04 Jun 13:00 01:30 EDEXL 1BS0 02 Building A Business
Tue 04 Jun 13:00 01:00 OCR A833/01 Portuguese Reading
Wed 05 Jun 13:00 01:15 OCR J384/02 Geography B: People and Society
Thu 06 Jun 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/2F Mathematics Paper 2 Tier F
Thu 06 Jun 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/2H Mathematics Paper 2 Tier H
Thu 06 Jun 12:45 01:45 EDEXL 1HI0 2L American W., Henry
Fri 07 Jun 09:00 01:45 AQA 8700/2 English Language Paper 2
Fri 07 Jun 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2BF Paper Two: Biology (F)
Fri 07 Jun 13:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2BH Paper Two: Biology (H)
Tue 11 Jun 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/3F Mathematics Paper 3 Tier F
Tue 11 Jun 09:00 01:30 AQA 8300/3H Mathematics Paper 3 Tier H
Tue 11 Jun 13:00 01:20 EDEXL 1HI0 31 Weimar & Nazi Germany
Wed 12 Jun 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2CF Paper Two: Chemistry (F)
Wed 12 Jun 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2CH Paper Two: Chemistry (H)
Wed 12 Jun 13:00 00:45 AQA 8688/LH Polish Listening (H)
Wed 12 Jun 13:00 01:00 AQA 8688/RH Polish Reading (H)
Thu 13 Jun 09:00 01:30 OCR J384/03 Geography B: Gegrphcal Explrtn
Fri 14 Jun 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2PF Paper Two: Physics (F)
Fri 14 Jun 09:00 01:10 EDEXL 1SC0 2PH Paper Two: Physics (H)
Wed 19 Jun 09:00 01:15 AQA 8688/WH Polish Writing (H)